« All Events

Coming of Age: Rituals of Life Review

July 2 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am MDT

$175.00 – $250.00
Image of hands holding a lit candle

With Melissa Moore and Sandra Ladley

$250 Patron price, $175 General Admission, $100  Scholarship - must apply for this

Dates / Times: 

Five 1.5 Hour Saturday Mornings and one 3 Hour Saturday Morning 

Saturdays July 2, 16, 30, August 13, and 27, 2022 at 9 AM PT/10 AM MT/ 11 AM CT/ Noon ET, 2022  & Saturday, September 10th, 2022 at 9am PT for a 3-hour meeting and closing full moon ceremony. 

Description: 

Women 60 and older have come to an age ripe for life review rituals. This workshop is open to people who identify as female over 60, whether you are familiar with Karuna Training or not, who are interested in gathering together for a life review in community. This online Zoom program will be limited to 16 participants and will become a closed group after the second gathering on July 16th. 

Too often, we do not honor the lessons learned in each stage of life and glaze over the stories of our life’s most significant challenges and hard-earned lessons and accomplishments. Being witnessed in a sacred and confidential community is a helpful process that allows for the integration of teachings that life is continually offering. This circle is being created to meet the losses that we encounter as we age. 

We will collectively review our stages of life, using writing prompts to be completed in the two-week intervals between online classes. We aim to review, honor and celebrate the lessons learned, first in our childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and then what we are learning as we come of age - where we find ourselves now. 

The meetings will offer time for speaking and listening from the heart, and we will also engage in contemplative rituals for us to resource ourselves and integrate each stage of our lives. Finally, the course culminates with a class on the full moon Saturday, September 10th, where we will step into our power as women who have arrived! 

Bios

Sandra Ladley, MA, is a core Karuna Training faculty member. She partnered with Melissa Moore to bring Karuna Training to North America. Sandra received her MA in Contemplative Psychology from Naropa University. She is a long-time Buddhist practitioner and teacher, an interdisciplinary artist and activist, and a life-long student. Sandra teaches Buddhist, Contemplative Psychology, and Creative Arts programs internationally. She draws on ​a breadth of experience as a teacher, counselor, and manager in business, mental health, and creative arts settings to bring vibrancy and engagement to her teaching.

Melissa Moore Ph.D. has been the steward of Karuna Training North American since 2014 and a co-founder of Karuna Europe in 1996. Melissa has her MA in Contemplative Psychotherapy from Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado, and her Ph.D. in Psychological Anthropology from the California Institute of Integral Studies. Melissa has been a student of Vajrayana Buddhism and Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche since 1979. Melissa has taught Karuna Training in nine countries and five states in the U.S. She is the author of the newly published book, The Diamonds Within Us: Uncovering Brilliant Sanity Through Contemplative Psychology: https://thediamondswithinus.org.

If you have questions or would like to apply for a scholarship, please email Mairead at karuna.assist@gmail.com

Details

Date:
July 2
Time:
10:00 am - 11:30 am MDT
Cost:
$175.00 – $250.00
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Online

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Coming of Age: Patron Ticket
$ 250.00
11 available
Coming of Age: General Admission Ticket
$ 175.00
11 available
Copied